have the option to apply for a hardship license. A hardship license is usually granted by the State Department of Revenue. However, in Missouri, you also have the option of petitioning the court for hardship. In most cases, there are special rules for being given a hardship license and you will likely need legal advice on the issue.
In Missouri a hardship license is actually called a "limited driving privilege" or LDP. An LDP would allow you to drive to home, work or school under certain conditions. However, you may be subject to an ignition interlock device requirement in addition to providing proof of insurance and possibly having a camera with GPS installed in your car. The facts of your license denial will determine which requirements apply to your case.
In Kansas, a hardship license is also called a limited driving privilege. In Kansas, only drivers who are suspended due to a DUI/DWI are eligible for a LDP and there are certain waiting periods before you can become eligible. An LDP in Kansas also contains restrictions on where you can drive and for what purpose. There are also ignition interlock device requirements depending on the basis of your suspension.
Please give us a call if you need assistance seeking a hardship license.
Hardship Licenses - Limited Driving Privilege
If you have lost your license due to a 5 or 10 year denial in Missouri or similar suspension in Kansas, we can advise you on whether or not you
Reinstatement after a Five or Ten Year Denial
If you have been suspended in Missouri for a five or ten year period, getting your license back requires filing a petition in the circuit court where your last conviction for DWI or DUI was received. You must request that a judge order your license reinstated and show that you are not a threat to public safety.
If your petition is granted, you must maintain an ignition interlock device for at least 6 months and maintain SR-22 insurance for one year. If you are being reinstated after a 10 year denial, your ignition interlock device must be equipped with a camera and GPS.
Please give us a call if you need representation filing a reinstatement petition.
Getting Your License Back after a Traffic Ticket Conviction
If your license has been suspended or revoked due to an accumulation of points or moving violations, we can determine if certain points or moving violations can be removed from your driving record by setting aside your previous guilty plea.
This is an uncommon legal remedy, but necessary for some who have gotten too many tickets in a short period of time. Please contact us if you have been suspended and think removing a previous conviction will help you get your license back.
Reinstatement after an Unpaid Traffic Ticket
If you have been suspended for "failure to comply with a citation," you can easily get your license back by either paying the ticket or hiring an attorney to dispose of the ticket for you.
In Missouri, upon payment or disposition of your ticket, the court will issue a compliance letter that will allow you to become reinstated. The compliance letter should be taken to a local license office where you can also pay your reinstatement fee.
If you are suspended in Kansas for failing to comply with a citation, reinstatement will be done at the court were the ticket is ultimately paid or disposed of. You will be charged a reinstatement fee separate from fines and court costs and the local court sends its request to reinstate you electronically.